



May 2020



Your Full Service Archery Dealer (319) 851-5290

The board is paying close attention as our governor as she begins easing restrictions on organizations such as ours. Just a reminder that the current guidelines for our club as we have previously implemented will remain in effect until the board can meet and make determinations on the best course of action to move forward. On June 3rd 2020 on Zoom. The Following items the board will be discussing.

Rebooting Non Member Summer leagues Rebooting of JOAD program Rebooting of Membership meetings (also New Memberships) Upcoming Shoots (JOAD CAMP, Rendezvous 3D Archery Shoot, Deer Slayer 3D Shoot Iowa DNR Anniversary Archery Program Pleasant Creek) Reboot of Board Meetings at the Club other

> Thank you. The Board Of The Waltonian Archers Of Linn County

If there any question's please don't hesitate to ask Jeremiah Zeien

> Email: JeremiahZeien@imonmail.com

> > EVICTIONS DONE RIGHT THE FIRST TIME MARVIN FINDLEY CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA 52404 CELL 319-270-2275 HOME 319-365-3170



FINPILO@gmail.com

HISTORY CORNER

1967 A key system was tried out at the range each member was to purchase his own key to the range the club was to purchase it back if the members left the club. The club started a fun program started the obtaining of scalps from the other shooters this proved to be a lot of fun. Larry Isaacs was president

1968 There wasn't a lot going on out at the club this year. Jim Osterberg was president

1969 The club receives a five-star rating for the ranges this year. Mike Fountain gave the club the Paul Williams award to the club. The ladies' auxiliary put in the septic tank this year. Marv Findley joined the club. Al Nelson was president

1970 There wasn't a lot going on out at the club this year. Dave and Charlotte Mason joined the club. Milt Smith was president

1971 This was a big year in the club. This was the year that the club hosted the Bowhunter Jamboree ISAA (Iowa State Archery Association) Jim Sanders and Larry Isaac oversaw the targets. The Toddville legion hall is where they held the clinic for the building of the animals. There was one sad note club President Ed Jankovic died of a heart attack on August 15th at Jones Park during a club event. Rudy Ashbacker took over as president for the remainder of the term.

1972 The club also hosted the Midwestern as well as the State Jamboree later this year. There was an open house at the range as well. Chuck and Cindy Zaveck Joined the club. Larry Briney was president

1973 A memorial to Ed Jankovic was put up at the main gate at Enders Field. The club hosted the State Jamboree again this year. The new club house was erected by Don Rogan with help. Cal Strucken joined the club. Dave Mason was president

1974 The club hosted the State Jamboree again this year The Anamosa club issued a challenge to shoot the Waltonians this led to other clubs to do the same. Dave Mason was president

1975 The club submitted a bid for the Midwestern. The club dues were raised this year. The club hosted the State Jamboree again this year there was a special election for a new secretary Craig Waite joined the club. Jim Durbin was president



2020 Spring turkey taken with longbow in Van Buren County. John Vargo, Cedar Rapids

<u>Ways and Means</u> Ways and Means Committee Chairman

Jenn Rupp

Committee

Gayla Lewis

Brian Smith

Diane Mally

Hannah Konzen

HATS, SHIRTS, ETC. FOR SALE!!!

Event Calendar

All Events are Under a Week By Week Review BECAUSE OF THE COVID-19 OUTBREAK please go to our

Facebook page and Website for Updates !!!!!!!!

June					
Sunday 14th	9AM (Start)	TBD	ISAA State Outdoor Target		
Sunday 21st	9AM (Start)	TBD	International Round		
July					
Sunday 12th	9AM (Start)	TBD	Target 900 Round		
Saturday 18th	7AM - 3PM	TBD	The Rendezvous 3D		
Sunday 19th	7AM - 1PM	TBD	The Rendezvous 3D		

2019-2020 Club Officers

President: Je	remiah Zeien	319-491-1667	jeremiahzeien@imonmail.com
Vice President:	Carl Mally	319-365-4311	mallycj@aol.com
Secretary:	Gayla Lewis	563-212-3457	Silverbay13@gmail.com
Treasurer:	Don Parker	319-431-0979	don.parker@mchsi.com
Board Member:	Jenn Rupp	515-450-9668	jennynyla@gmail.com
Board Member:	Dennis Ringgenberg	319-329-0013	dringge@mchsi.com
Board Member:	Mary Bisinger	319-350-5021	mbisinger.mb@gmail.com

<u>Shavings Editor</u> Jeremiah Zeien Email: jeremiahzeien@imonmail.com